Kia ora Papatūānuku Whānau,

Hope this find you all doing well,

We have an exciting opportunity coming up in Week 7 (Monday 3rd September/Tuesday 4th September) where all our junior classes are travelling by bus down to Shed 23 on Princess St to jam out with Jennifer Moss! She is a musical extraordinaire who has a special tie to Russell Street School, as she used to do the job that Jenny does for us now back in 2013. She is really looking forward to musing and grooving with us!

Shed 23 has three rooms set up of xylophones, marimba, boom whackers, African drums, tongue drums, native American drums, shakers, ukuleles and heaps more, we are going to have a blast! This will be a great experience for all our learners as we build up towards our Festival of the Cultures in Week 10. Jennifer is going to take us on a musical voyage with exposure to a range of different cultures, song, music and dance.

Each class has their own session with Jennifer and the timetable is:

Monday 3rd September:
9.30-10.30am – Harakeke with Kerri/Craig. kerri@russellst.school.nz
11-12pm – Tohoranui with Robin/Sandi. robin@russellst.school.nz 
1-2pm – 2Meke with Demelza. demelza@russellst.school.nz

Tuesday 4th September:
9.30-10.30am
– Waka Huia with Kelly/Simon. kelly@russellst.school.nz
11-12pm -Waka Huia with Nicole/Carolyn. nicole@russellst.school.nz
1-2pm – Pīwakawaka with Lucy. lucy@russellst.school.nz

We need your support on the day to maintain a 1:6 ratio so that means we require 2-3 parents per class to come and help us out please. (I’m pretty sure we won’t need to twist your arm as it’s going to be tonnes of fun!) If this sounds like a bit of you, email your child’s teacher or pop in to book your spot!

Any questions, talk to Troy
troy@russellst.school.nz